New Executive Committee elected

The Brussels Labour Annual General Meeting elected a new Executive Committee at its meeting on Wednesday 20 March.

Jo Wood, previously Vice-Chair, becomes Chair of Brussels Labour. David O’Leary becomes Vice-Chair and Paul Hagan becomes Secretary. Belinda Pyke remains as Treasurer.

Keir Fitch was thanked for his service as Chair since 2011 and remains as a member of the Executive Committee. Isobel Findlay and Georgina Carr also remain on the committee and are joined by three new members: Charlotte Billingham, Martin Dawson and Nicholas Elles.

Peter Wragg and Mike Ridgway agreed to keep their positions as auditors. The full list of the committee is available here.

Three members stood down from the committee: Emma Eatwell, Frazer Clarke and David Earnshaw. All were thanked for their long service and dedication to Brussels Labour.

The full minutes of the AGM will be posted on the website shortly.


Annual General Meeting 2013 – this Wednesday, 20 March


The AGM of Brussels Labour International Branch will take place on Wednesday 20 March at the House of European Socialists, Rue Major Dubreucq 40, 1050 Ixelles (just off Place de Londres).

The venue opens at 19:30 at the AGM begins at 20:00. Following the AGM there will be a discussion on 40 Years of Labour in Brussels with former Brussels Labour Chairs Belinda Pyke, Joanna Tachmintzis and Peter Wragg.


For the AGM, the following nominations have been received:

  • Chair – Jo Wood
  • Vice Chair – David O’Leary
  • Secretary – Paul Hagan
  • Treasurer – Belinda Pyke

Six further members of the Executive Committee – Charlotte Billingham, Georgina Carr, Martin Dawson, Nicholas Elles, Isobel Findlay, Keir Fitch.

Two Auditors (non-executive positions) – Mike Ridgway, Peter Wragg.


To nominate or vote at the AGM you must be a Labour Party member and have paid your subscription: please bring your party membership card to the meeting.


Subscriptions can be paid in cash to the Treasurer, Belinda Pyke, or by bank transfer to Account number: 001-1128765-52 | IBAN: BE64 0011 1287 6552 | BIC: GEBABEBB

Account name: Brussels Labour Party Group | bank: BNP Paribas Fortis Communication: ‘[name] Subscription [year]’

Rates are €25 standard membership and €5 for stagiaires.

A membership form for Brussels Labour can also be found here. The Brussels Labour Constitution and Standing Orders are available here.

S&D/FEPS conference on Failed Austerity in Europe

The Launch Conference of the S&D Group / FEPS Progressive Economy Initiative takes place on Thursday 7 March in the European Parliament.

You can find more information on the conference, which will focus on Failed Austerity in Europe, by clicking here. Registration is available until 4 March.

If you can’t make it in person, there will be live webstreaming via the same link.